Sports Mania(suscribe us on feeds) Headline Animator

Sports Mania(suscribe us on feeds)

Saturday, October 9, 2010

Pakistan ODI, T20 team announced for South Africa series

KARACHI: Pakistan on Thursday left out former captain Shoaib Malik from their 15-man squad and also delayed naming a captain for their neutral venue series against South Africa starting later this month.

Wicket-keeper batsman Kamran Akmal, who suffered abdominal problems before being hospitalised on Wednesday, will have to pass a fitness test to get into the team.

Pakistan will play two Twenty20, five one-day and two Tests in the series to be hosted by Abu Dhabi and Dubai.

A Test squad will be announced later. Pakistan will have to find a replacement for Test captain Salman Butt who is suspended over charges of violating ICC (International Cricket Council) code of conduct.

Butt, along with bowlers Mohammad Asif and Mohammad Aamer were alleged to have taken money to deliberately bowl no-balls during Pakistan's Lord's Test against England in August. All three were not included in the team.

Veteran batsman Misbah-ul-Haq makes a return to the squad.

Allrounder Shahid Afridi led Pakistan team in the one-day series against England which ended in team's 2-3 defeat last month.

Veteran former captain Intikhab Alam will be the manager after Yawar Saeed stepped down following the tour of England marred by spot-fixing allegations.

Former captain Younis Khan's name was also not considered.

Squad: Imran Farhat, Moham
mad Hafeez, Mohammad Yousuf, Misbah-ul-Haq, Umar Akmal, Asad Shafiq, Fawad Alam, Shahid Afridi, Abdul Razzaq, Shoaib Akhtar, Umar Gul, Saeed Ajmal, Abdul Rehman, Tanveer Ahmed, Zulqarnain Haider.

No comments:

Post a Comment