Sports Mania(suscribe us on feeds) Headline Animator

Sports Mania(suscribe us on feeds)

Tuesday, November 30, 2010

Pakistan squad named for New Zealand tour

Pakistan squad named for New Zealand tourLAHORE: Pakistan Cricket Board has announced the national squad for the forthcoming tour of New Zealand here on Tuesday.

Misbah-ul-Haq and Shahid Afridi have been retained as captains for Test and Twenty20 teams, respectively.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Kamran Akmal, veteran batsman Mohammad Yousuf and opening batsman Imran Farhat have been left out of the squad.

Kamran, who was ruled out of Pakistan's recent series against South Africa in the United Arab Emirates after surgery for appendicitis, has been at the centre of match-fixing allegations.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) reportedly issued notice to him regarding Pakistan's controversial defeat against Australia in the Sydney Test in January.

But there were reports in Pakistani media suggesting Akmal, 28, had contacted the ICC regarding his selection and was told that he was cleared for selection.

Yousuf, 36, had to return home after a recurrence of a groin injury earlier this month and although he too was featuring in the domestic matches, selectors left him out. 

Also out of the team was former captain Shoaib Malik while Sohail Tanveer has made comeback in the national team..

Malik, 28, was also left out of the team against the South African series after performing poorly on the tour of England.

The PCB has said that Wahab Riaz’s includion in the team depends on his fitness.

Twenty20 squad: Shahid Afridi (captain), Mohammad Hafeez, Ahmed Shahzad, Younis Khan, Umar Akmal, Fawad Alam, Adnan Akmal, Saeed Ajmal, Abdul Rehman, Abdul Razzaq, Umar Gul, Shoaib Akhtar, Tanveer Ahmed, Sohail Tanveer, Wahab Riaz.

Test squad: Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Mohammad Hafeez, Taufiq Umer, Younis Khan, Azhar Ali, Asad Shafiq, Umar Akmal, Adnan Akmal, Saeed Ajmal, Abdul Rehman, Umar Gul, Tanveer Ahmed, Sohail Tanveer, Wahab Riaz.

Pakistan will play three Twenty20 Internationals, two Tests and six One-day Internationals on the 45-day tour. 

The squad for ODI series will be announced later.

No comments:

Post a Comment